I have never blogged about dance class…

Posted: January 30, 2011 in Uncategorized

I went to dance class today with a new mentality and outlook; I was there to participate as usual, but I was also there to observe and learn.  I wanted to take in as much as I could in order to have something to write about.  This proved to be harder than I thought.  I suppose I should begin with the kind of dancing that I do.  I am a Ukrainian dancer.  What is Ukrainian dancing you ask?  Well it is kind of hard to explain.  Ukrainian dance is a type of cultural folk dance and is often described as fast paced and energetic.  The movements, though often thought of as traditional and characteristically Ukrainian, often incorporate various other forms of dance including ballet, contemporary, and some urban.  I have posted a video below of one of our performances.  Hopefully this will give you a better idea of what Ukrainian dance really is..

 

Leave a Reply

