Creativity…

Posted: March 22, 2011 in Uncategorized

Today in my dance class, we were challenged to be creative and come up with a sequence to a particular piece of music.  I have found that being creative in dance is not my forte..yet.  Having been in dance classes my entire life, I am used to being told what to do, when to do it, and where to go.  Choreography and structure is what I have become accustomed to.  As a result, when someone asks me to do whatever I want to, I feel overwhelmed and confused.  I believe being free and creative in your dancing skill is something that needs to be practiced, at least for me.  I slowly became more comfortable with this idea and it ended up not as scary as I thought.  I still had a very good dance class.

As a side thought, here is a great way to incorporate creativity and dance into the curriculum.  Take a look!

Leave a Reply

